In Defense of Vampire: the Requiem

As it becomes increasingly obvious, I’m starting to think White-Wolf has more interest in roping their lapsed Masquerade fans back into the fold than in making Requiem a complete gameline. The writing is certainly on the walls. Their upcoming MMO (assuming it doesn’t remain in a permanent state of vapor-ware) is based on the older Masquerade license; they’ve recently released the 20th anniversary edition book of Vampire: the Masquerade, and they are starting (restarting?) a game line called ‘Onyx Path’, which is previously unreleased Old World o f Darkness material.  No, no, that doesn’t prove anything. Yes, I’m doomsaying, which everyone has been doing since the White-Wolf slipped over to an exclusive PoD/PDF sales model. But the resulting internet buzz got me to thinking.

See, all I keep hearing is all this weird nostalgic stuff about Masquerade, because you know, people are thinking back on the line and what they liked about it. What comes along with that are criticisms – direct and indirect – of Requiem. And I wanted to address that. So in no particular order, here are some of my defenses of what I consider to be the best horror game out there:

1.) “I’ve always felt like Requiem is too dry. Masquerade had a much more engaging backstory.”

This is the most polite way I have heard, to comment on WW’s decision to include no metaplot in Requiem. I have always felt – still feel – that Masquerade was as much a comic book as it was an RPG. Each book progressed the story. There were people, many people, who were more interested in that story than in game, ferreting around in the books in an attempt to put together some grand riddle, like it’s an ARG or something. I think that Requiem, being a toolbox game, was always supposed to approach Masquerade in terms of its rich plot – but only with the help of individual Storytellers, not from the gameline. Here’s what I mean. In Masquerade, you knew each sect’s territory, had at least two dozen NPCs perfectly capable of handling every threat the PCs would ever care to tackle themselves. You had the vampire origin question more or less settled, an end of the world scenario, vast-world-wide conspiracies, and milennia old mysteries.

Why can’t Requiem do that?

Simple answer: It can. That’s the thing. Most STs don’t do the work required to build a universe around their game, but all the tools are there to decide on your own vampire origin story, what world-wide conspiracies are happening, and so forth. Requiem was always intended to be more flexible, and allow each ST to custom-build their own setting, with very little in the way of assumed constants in that setting. One ST builds a global game. One ST builds a local game. One ST decides Judas was the first vampire, and another decides it was Gilgamesh. If the book is dry, it’s because it’s an instruction book, not a serial novel that also happens to be a game, if you’re into that kind of thing.

2.) “I just don’t feel very strongly about the clans as they are presented in the core book.”

This one has some validity to it, particularly when you consider that most of this camp is coming from Masquerade. In that game, you almost automatically know what you’re getting into just flipping through the book. Gangrel – animalistic types, gut instinct. All Gangrel deal with the animal side of vampirism, full stop, or else they have good reason for being contrary, but either way they interact with the stereotype. If you play a Brujah, you rebel against something. If you play a Malkavian, you’re crazy and use crazy to solve mysteries, and so forth. The character archetype is baked right into the Clan, such that flipping through the book is almost like looking at a catalog of personalities. That’s not to say everyone played a Toreador the same way (although, there are plenty of you out there), but rather that it was easy for a new player to pick a character off a page, make that character, and immediately know how to play her and what her goals are.

In contrast, Clans in Requiem have never represented that. They don’t really represent how to play or what kind of personality you might have or what your goals are. Clans in Requiem are a unique, mystical expression of the Curse, and much more closely model what tools a character has available. Mekhet are sneaky, but not because they are the “sneaky clan” (see: Assamites), but rather, because their tools (Obfuscate, Auspex) are good at gathering information and maintaining concealment. There is so much wiggle room within that context that there is almost no guideline whatsoever as to what to do. And moreover, there is no Mekhet Clan structure (at least, by default) to tell you what to do or what your personality is like. Covenants go some of the way towards resolving this, but Covenants only tell you what your ideology looks like, not what your personality is like. If you’re a Mekhet Sanctified, it means you’re a believer (probably) and you have access to information gathering powers. It doesn’t immediately tell you as much as say, playing a Malkavian might.

This means the whole game was just less accessible to new players; less accessible means less impressive formative experiences, and that means poor comparisons for people who played both. I found the freedom of Requiem incredibly refreshing; I liked being able to make a personality first and pick a Clan second, which was sort of rare in Masquerade. Anecdotal stories about Tremere or Ventrue chastised, OOC and IC, for “playing their Clan wrong” is about all I need to hear to know that distinction exists. A number of times, I would see new players flip through the book and stare at the Clans for an hour or more and still not feel immediately drawn to any of them, largely because Requiem asks you to do a lot of work with regards to coming up with your own goals and personality first. Character concepts that, in Masquerade, would immediately fit one Clan very naturally (“I want to play a Crazy Seer”, for instance, or “I want to play a Rich Businessman”) could fit 2, 3, or even all 5 in Requiem, which further muddied the waters.

3.) “Vampires are weaker in Requiem/Elders are weaker in Requiem.”

This one I can’t argue with, because mechanically there’s no question about it. Vampires are closer to mortals in Requiem than they are in Masquerade. It’s an objective fact. The trick is, I don’t especially care. Vampire to me has never been a game about self-empowerment. Vampires are not magicians, or superheroes, by default. They are mortals, changed, given a shot at eternal life and faced with the difficulty of survival and moral despair. Their perks – Disciplines, inherent benefits, etc – should operate to help reinforce those ideas, and give them the ability to enact some degree of change in the world. I do not consider it a failing that a modestly well statted mortal can kill a starting vampire with a baseball bat under the correct circumstances.

See, Vampires are supposed to be secretive and manipulative, and that’s not something I ever felt Masquerade really encouraged. If some 7th generation Prince has all his Disciplines at 5 and such, there’s really no reason for him to rule from the shadows, particularly if there aren’t any other 7th generation vampires in town. Sure, if the whole city decides to kill him, they might be able to, but let’s not kid ourselves – this guy can probably kill a couple of starting characters without a second thought. Why on Earth would he ever need such characters? It’s immediately deprotagonizing. Vampires in Requiem, particularly Elders, survive by making friends, because while they are personally more powerful than most given individual neonates, they aren’t stronger than all of them. Further, there are probably a dozen things a Requiem Elder can’t do himself, unlike the Masquerade Elder, who can do just about anything. Making an Elder vampire “unbetable” in Requiem takes thousands of experience. Considering the chart for giving XP to advanced characters stops at around 400, that seems untenable.

Vulnerable Elders – indeed, vulnerable vampires – help enforce the theme of political distrust. Vampires don’t trust each other, but they have to make friends to survive. No one of them is personally powerful enough, physically, to survive in a vacuum. I like that, I find it to be incredibly interesting.  9 levels up of untouchable NPCs who are both more interesting and more powerful than the PCs? Not so much.

To conclude: I know full well White Wolf probably isn’t closing the door on Requiem, and I hope that they do something great with the license. And I mean, I like Masquerade! I think it has some great perks, I played the game for years. But I love Requiem; I really feel it is a superior games for writing compelling stories about vampires. If I want to read a great story about vampires, or if I want to play in a game where the power scale trends towards the apocalyptic, or if I want to ease players into a game where they might not immediately know what they want to play, maybe Masquerade is a better choice. To me, Requiem is just perfect, and I guess even if the line were to end tomorrow, I would feel like the collection I have is pretty comprehensive. I only wish more die-hards had given it an honest shot, instead of reading through it in PDF or at the gamestore and thinking, “There’s no plot in this! I’m uninterested!” That’s never been the point. We make our own worlds, our own stories, our own grand mysteries, vampire origins, and our own end of the world, sometimes.

Tell me what you think in the comments!

~ by aatramor on September 29, 2011.

14 Responses to “In Defense of Vampire: the Requiem”

  1. I completely agree. Ever since we played LARP together up in NoHo I’ve been playing Current World of Darkness (I refuse to call it ‘nWoD’ anymore), on the internet straight. I’ve seen a lot of the evolution occur, the thought process and been party to a lot of the theorycrafting about meta-theories and the meta-themes of the World of Darkness (current).

    I also played a lot of WoD1, mostly in LARP. WoD1 – all of it – from Ascension to Masquerade was a game about generational differences and generational politics. When generations thought they could “change the world” and generations (X and Baby Boomers) gave frankly a damn about it. It’s strange to say as I’m a Millennial to watch a game, in the end, about Baby Boomers and Xers fight about their own differences. Either on the one hand being afraid of change and being staid Baby Boom / Camerilla and being the near anarchic chaotic mess that they’ve become Sabbat/Me-Generation/Xers & Anarchs/Xers.

    Frankly, the meta-plot (and I can still quote things chapter and verse) was a train-wreck. A train-wreck being looked back on fondly with Rose Colored Glasses, but a train-wreck. It was put together ad-hoc because MRH decided to spin off his successful Ars Magica into a more urban gothic modern setting. It was a setting that for at least one iteration of the editions was run roughshod by Freelancers who tried to get away with murder (I’m looking at you Sam Height).

    By the time Achilli came on board, the generations being examined through the characture of Blood Sucking Vampires or Ivory Tower Magicians were waning. Which, coincidentally is why the gameline ended with the dawn of the new Millennium.

    If a storyteller is incapable of using the tool-box to create their own story and their own, living-breathing setting: then frankly they are lazy. Unfortunately, Gamers enjoy having things spelled out – from the top NPCs to rely on to the bottom. Requiem and the rest of the World of Darkness has the freedom to do as I please, ask the questions of the players that I want, and have the characters that I want.

    Remember, now so late in the WoD game-cycle, you can do anything you want to do in WoD1 in the current WoD.

    The biggest point here, is that while Masquerade was about the World rather than the _character_. Requiem is about the _Character_. Current World of Darkness asks questions of the player. It considers on a core level matters of the Soul. These are cerebral questions that were never asked in Masquerade. Where Masquerade is Pulp, to put simply, Requiem is a Christopher Nolan film.

    On your second point, is another point of where I agree. But, it is more of a question of how many pages they were allowed to print in the Core book and the ability of the developers to do as they needed and to get the sub-questions out. In honesty, this is more of a problem with Mage: the Awakening. Which, as a core book, tries to do too much at once and thus does nothing well. But, the clans are a lot different than anyone gives them credit for.

    For more, I’ll point you to a post made by my friend Xavier: http://www.wantonwicked.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=16246&start=0 originally written for the second iteration of the WantonWicked online chronicle but still resonates today. In essence, there are deeper questions on the line with the Requiem clans. Alluded to in the very much Excellent Clanbook series, and expounded on here and there. Where the Toreador are artistes and poseurs, and that one-note is it. The Daeva scoff at such and become addicted to the communication between people, the links that are ephemeral and play them like chess pieces… because they _want_ to and for no other reason.

    Finally, just a little ruminating on point three. Yes, everyone knows that Vampire is a lot weaker against the backdrop of the current WoD. Though this thought is shared with WtF players. Black Hat Matt even stated as much that it was early in the gameline and they did not make them as powerful as they should have. And, while I’ve played online chronicles that have cross-over and it comes up once in a while — the fact of the matter is, it is up to the Storytelling Staff (like myself with Mage on one chronicle) to monitor and to work to balance or buff with rules hacks, clarifications or the like.

    Again, it goes back to laziness. What is written in t he book is not written in stone. What is written in the book is not gospel. If an ST doesn’t want to sit and adjust for their game, then that ST is Lazy. If a potential player scoffs at the power level of the game instead of wanting to play a game where questions are asked about characters who never will be elders and there’s always someone bigger in the sea: then they may not be the players for you or I.

    • Thanks for the great response, and it’s great to see someone shares some of my opinions and ideas about the nWoD (fun fact: White Wolf recently changed the oWoD moniker to “cWoD” for “Classic World of Darkness.” Let the Coke jokes commence!)

      I always wanted a Requiem LARP to work, because I always had these grand ideas of how the Covenants would work, about parlay and point and counterpoint, and about secret wars and alliances between the various ideological groups that just don’t make proper sense in a Masquerade game. The Sects are too opposed to work like that, and the Clans are too allied to properly model the level of antagonism across Covenants. The idea of players – many players – filling those roles was always an exciting possibility, an exciting possibility that just never seemed to properly manifest for me.

      I definitely feel you on the laziness issue, and a think a lot of that has to do with storytellers and players alike not properly adjusting their expectations to a toolbox game.

      Thanks again!

  2. I don’t have a lot of time to post, but I did want to at the very least leave a message agreeing with the majority of the sentiments you echoed in your post here. Some gamers I’ve spoken with, on top of that, also feel somewhat betrayed for enjoying the evolution of White Wolf’s vampire lines, and then ultimately seeing White Wolf return to Masquerade, essentially abandoning the Requiem game line.

    I’m not particularly sure that I agree with that assessment, personally. But, I do think that it bears mentioning that there was so much supplemental material done for Masquerade that a lot of long-term fans of the vampire lines (both of them!) definitely have noticed that Requiem’s fleshing feels… lackluster.

    I love the world-building possibilities with Requiem. I just hope that White Wolf hasn’t elected to return completely to Masquerade _at expense of Requiem_, a fine line in and of itself.

    Masquerade 20th is nice, but personally, it’s bittersweet. I’d like to see more passionate development on Requiem. Damnation City was a beautifully crafted book, and was easily my favorite supplement in ANY of the vampire lines. Do I think they’ve abandoned Requiem? No. But do I think there will be another passionately crafted Requiem book, such as the likes of Damnation City? No, I don’t. I hope in the future they prove me wrong on this.

    In closing, thanks for the article, I linked it on twitter and on my google plus account, because it deserves notice. (Google Plus if you’re on and interested in being in my circles – https://plus.google.com/108091659905281777039/posts)

    Have a good one!

    • Thanks for the link, and I’ll make sure to drop you a line on Google+

      I don’t know how I feel about the future of Requiem. I think a lot of Requiem fans feel betrayed because of the, “I told you so” factor. Most of us who loved the book from the beginning (gods, I remember how excited I was when I saw the deep red finish of the core book) kept getting these sentiments from the old Masquerade fans: Book is dry, where is my favorite Clan?, I miss the Sabbat, and so forth. The resistance level was very high and a lot of us have a lot of emotional investment in defending the gameline.

      Personally, I hope the Masquerade relaunch goes well. I really did love Masquerade, but I just love Requiem more. And I agree about Damnation City. That book was such a great guide to how to make a city just WORK for vampire, I can’t express how helpful it was.

      Who knows if it’s ending? The support definitely feels… lackluster, and I just hope I’m wrong. It’s sort of ironic, in a way. When Masquerade first ended, I also felt betrayed. I was one of those people! But the first time I bought a Requiem product, I was immediately enamored with it, and haven’t looked back since. I suppose it is only fitting that I give the old-but-new material a chance. Hell, I bought the anniversary book, because I’m such a big fan. I just wish some of that enthusiasm – particularly from the fans – could have migrated over to Requiem.

  3. I’m going to repeat my comment from Gplus where i first saw this:

    You know, it’s probably the fact that I am coming from the OWBN/Camarilla organized LARP experience (although I have briefly played TT versions of old and new world) but I kept thinking as I read that this article explains why Requiem works so well as a TT game and is lousy for LARP, at least for a game bigger than a single troupe. (At that point, there isn’t much difference between TT and LARP except getting dressed up–because the mechanics are 99% the same unless you agree to those godawful MET changes and f*** that noise.)

    I’d think a TT/small troupe Storyteller would prefer a toolbox game to one shoehorned into a metaplot so that they have that god-like creative freedom, whereas an ST that’s part of a larger game needs metaplot to make his players feel part of the larger org.

    Am I wrong?

  4. Wanted to add: I love Requiem for all the reasons you said, but I’m coming from a D&D background where sometimes I played a setting with a metaplot, and sometimes I played something completely from the DM’s head using the core books as a guide. So the toolbox thing works for me.

    • Great point!

      I ran two Requiem LARPS and never had an opportunity to be involved in a Masquerade LARP, though I did play Masquerade pretty extensively in TT. I’m coming from a position of partial ignorance on that one, I admit.

      I always wanted a Requiem LARP to work. The Covenants are practically hand crafted for a LARP scenario. In a TT, you usually need a story reason to keep the PC coterie from squabbling too much if they come from wildly different backgrounds (unless you’re playing one of the intensely political variants, such as those presented in Damnation City). In a LARP, by contrast, that tension helps. PCs will strike out at one another’s resources, fight for control, and participate in a very local struggle for power and prestige.

      That’s the theory anyway. In practice, players often became paralyzed by the sandbox nature of the game world. I had always assumed LARPs were more PvP by their very nature – characters don’t have to get along with one another in order for players to have a good time, unlike a TT, where cooperation is (usually) required to move the story along. At least, that’s what I thought.

      I went into Requiem LARP-writing, thinking in terms of the Requiem default. Very local power struggles. Complex local backstory. I minimized elder influence in order to maximize player interactivity, and so forth. I never really thought of trying to make the players part of something bigger – to me, the local playground was more than complex enough to hold player interest, and since the players drive the local political sphere, it does indeed shift and change around the individual characters even if they do nothing, which (should) give the impression of a living, vibrant city.

      Now, the thing is, I’ve never been part of an official global LARP structure. I think that not only helps with logistics (you always have players in your game, you always have a grasp on a global setting, etc), but does indeed create an avenue for outward focus. Often, our players just wanted an outside enemy to focus on, or at least some sort of external threat. We (the other STs and I) tried very hard to stick to the “Gilded Cage” paradigm, but in hindsight, that may have been part of the problem.

      I don’t think you’re wrong. I think Masquerade makes for very accessible LARPs, both because players already know what to expect going in, and because making a character is incredibly easy. Maybe others can share their Masquerade vs Requiem LARP experiences, since mine pretty much end at the latter.

    • I’m actually going to completely disagree. I have an extensive MET / Masquerade background. Playing in LARP Masquerade pretty much my last three years of college. To be exactingly truthful, having different sets of mechanics between Table Top and MET was more of a hindrance than it was a help.

      Not only did it take up needful space within the book — when a book is put on the table to be written at White Wolf they have a Set number of pages to fill. No more, and no less. Separate MET rules would eat up space like you wouldn’t believe.

      Furthermore, being a political scientist (though lapsed) I have a background in statistical analysis. How does this apply to games? Well, it’s pretty simple, Quantitative Analysis is thoroughly based in Game Theory. There are only a finite number of permutations of the RPS (Bomb) mechanic and if you know the Gambits — well documented by competative RPSers — you will always win. Mr. Chris Lavin was a master of working out the math and the psychology needed to win RPS. In essence, the low statistical probability, should you know it, skewed unfairly towards one person.

      What Requiem MET and Awakening MET (this is POD only) do so well, is that they created a streamlined and more fair way of making successes happen – via the draw system. Further, they pretty elegantly side-step the page limit problem above by easily segueing the Table Top system over to MET. It works a lot better than Masquerade MET once you put aside that they are decedents from one another and give it an objective glance. And, with the freedom given, both MET books clarify succinctly what they were getting at in Core Books an introduce pretty interesting LARP Mechanics (Requiem with Ascendency and Awakening with the Social Status System).

      Just because they are in essence largely the same mechanics, does not mean that it gives the same atmosphere. Dressing up and _acting_ as character XYZ is different than sitting down and narrating what your character is doing over snacks.

      The biggest problem with offline LARP (because there’s a difference I’ll get to in a minute), is the lack of people. As well as there needing to be new thinking in how the night at the venue goes. I’ll tackle these two things separately.

      Lack of People: In the Afternoon of the nWoD there are _a lot _ of positions. Being that I played Invictus for about three years straight I know that pretty intimately. But with Invictus and Nomads put together there are over 20 different Titles of Function to give out. Let alone the slew of Titles of Esteem and such. To fully flesh out a covenant you need more than three PCs to really get into the Covenant Experience. STs don’t count because, in the end, they do not have time to get truly into a single NPC or Character along with playing Referee.

      Covenants are vibrant and effective. But, only when there is enough people, on the same page, to get things done and to politic against another covenant. When I played Imogen Crowe (Mekhet / OD) our biggest problem was not having the people to do OD seer tarot, no imitations, no organization of an Academy. And this, more than anything, hurt a vital part of the Requiem experience.

      New Thinking: In Masquerade LARP and in the early Requiem LARP, people would come in assuming that it was Court Night. Court Night would eat up a lot of time. Eventually, it would lead to Monster/Problem of the Night and people would end up in short meetings with their covenants and stuff like that. This is a terrible use of LARP time for Requiem.

      Funnily enough I was thinking about this exact thing a few days ago. This is why Court Night only takes place once a Season. Or, once every two months – depending on how often the LARP meets. This allows for individual Covenants (Lancea Sanctum Midnight Mass I’m looking at you) to be proactive and ask for the spotlight of the night. The PCs in charge would take charge of the night – invite people to Midnight Mass – and be the night’s centerpiece. Others who deign not to attend can go about their business, initiate their own plots, go politic with others by themselves or whatever. Let the characters request ST assistance, or STs do little plots themselves. Or, even let the PCs run their own plots for others in terms of Guest STing.

      Online LARP – is a bit different. It uses dice instead of the MET draw system, for one. But, on the other hand is massive and has the players necessary to really make a city come alive and fill out covenants and make covenant RP worth while. Being that it is 24/7 it’s a little more immersive. But, that’s the nature of the beast.

  5. I have played The Masquerade for many, many years. When it went out of print, I tried moving to Requiem. I did not like it, at all. That’s fine, different strokes, right? The thing is, Requiem lacks the depth that The Masquerade has. Granted, it hasn’t been around as long as VtM was. Maybe it is White Wolf’s fault. They haven’t really pushed it to what it could become. At the same time, they have 7 years worth of hate mail stacked up from all the VtMers out there, and they finally decided to give us what we want, what we NEED! I won’t be the average VtM loyalist and spout out hate against Requiem. I will however say “Sorry to all the Requiem fans out there. Yes, it does suck that you don’t seem to be getting new content. But that’s how we have felt for the last 7 years. It’s our turn now. Be patient, I’m sure you’re not forgotten. Things like this happen when you try to please EVERYONE. Here’s to hoping you receive new content in the near future.”

  6. Vampire: The Masquerade brought hot goth girls into role-playing

    Vampire: The Requiem brought math statistics into Vampire

    Do we really need to say more?

    • VrR is Statistics? VtR is addition, and nothing more complicated than that. (Oh, sorry, sometimes you multiply by 2 to double.)

    • The statistics were always there with both, I have no idea what you mean here. With Requiem and all of the current WoD, success-rate is always going to be 33% chance per dice.

      The success and statistics table with Masquerade is a hell of a lot more complicated than that.

  7. […] at The Art and Craft of Running an RPG, aatramor has written an interesting comparison between White Wolf’s Vampire: The Masquerade and Vampire: The Requiem defending Reqiuem over Masquerade. I haven’t played in a Vampire or Werewolf campaign for […]

  8. Yeah, I loved the zest that came from reading the Masquerade characters but I like the fact that you can Embrace just about any type of person into a clan and then see how things progress. I guess my main gripe was based around the Nosferatu. I loved their whole “All In It Together” + “Secrets Trade” aspect which made for some really intriguing looks at how people cursed to hideousness might adapt.

    The core rulebook (and most supplements) in Requiem focused on the idea of Nosferatu being Fear Monkeys who like to Terrify people. They’re not even necessarily portrayed as conflicted and bitter as they were in oWoD. When the clan book came out and all of a sudden they had the Nosferatu catacombs … well, that was pure awesome.

Leave a comment